clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 NFL Pro Bowl: Maurice Jones-Drew Makes AFC Squad

In news that should come as a shock to no one, Maurice Jones-Drew is the sole Jaguars player to be named to the 2012 NFL Pro Bowl and will serve as the second string running back for the AFC. After fan voting (which accounts for 1/3 of the total Pro Bowl vote) results were released, Jones-Drew was the only Jaguars player to finish in the top five in their respective positions in the AFC.

The 2012 NFL Pro Bowl will be Jones-Drew's 3rd consecutive time being named to the AFC roster and it makes him the 5th player in Jaguars history to have earned the honor three or more times, joining Tony Boselli, Jimmy Smith, Mark Brunell and Marcus Stroud.

Jones-Drew currently leads the NFL in rushing yards with 1,437 and has 128 yards more than Eagles RB LeSean McCoy, the 2nd leading rusher in the NFL. Jones-Drew needs 136 yards against the Colts in week 17 to break Fred Taylor's single season franchise rushing record.

Montell Owens was named the first alternate AFC special teamer, Greg Jones is the 2nd alternate at fullback and Josh Scobee is the 3rd alternate kicker.

The 2012 NFL Pro Bowl will be played on Sunday, Jan. 29 at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii.