clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 Community Mock Draft: Bears select OT Derek Sherrod

The Chicago Bears were a surprise team last year. I certainly didn't expect them to make the playoffs, much less win their division. They taught me last year, however, never to underestimate the value of having great pass rushers on your defense. That defense somehow carried the Bears to a 11-5 record, helped by some Jay Cutler magic. For a team with such a good record, their roster has some serious holes: their starting linebackers are 30 (Pino Tinoisamoa) 31 (Lance Briggs) and 33 (Brian Urlacher) years old and they don't have a stand-out wide receiver or the weapons on that offense to help out Jay Cutler. However, where they were most lacking last year was along their offensive line.

Seriously, their O-line was absolutely disgusting. Pitiful. They allowed 60 sacks including their playoff games, 10 more than the 31st ranked O-line (Arizona). Is that how you treat your new Franchise QB in Jay Cutler? They need serious help up front, and Derek Sherrod is just the man to provide it. The only thing that would make them rethink taking Sherrod is their fanatical dedication to BAP. They might decide that Akeem Ayers or a TE like Kyle Rudolph is the BAP (they have a long history of taking TE's high), but really, Sherrod is a great value at 29, especially when he also fills a titanic team need.

The Bears organization believes in Jay Cutler and want to keep him around. He'll throw a lot less picks with some protection. Derek Sherrod is the pick.

Pick made by: Brian Levenson (because someone had to...)

The New York Jets are now on the clock.

Previous picks:

29. Derek Sherrod
28. Mark Ingram
27. Adrian Clayborn
26. Anthony Castonzo
25. Jake Locker
24. Muhammad Wilkerson
23. Jimmy Smith
22. Danny Watkins
21. Phil Taylor
20. Justin Houston
19. Nate Solder
18. Ryan Kerrigan
17. J.J. Watt
16. Brooks Reed
15. Mike Pouncey
14. Corey Liuget
13. Cameron Jordan
12. Julio Jones
11. Robert Quinn
10. A.J. Green
9. Tyron Smith
8. Blaine Gabbert
7. Prince Amukamara
6. Da'Quan Bowers
5. Von Miller
4. Nick Fairley
3. Patrick Peterson
2. Marcell Dareus
1. Cam Newton