clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Eight Jaguars named to the ESPN All-AFC South Team

Paul Kuharsky of ESPN has spent the last few days putting together his list of player for the All-AFC South team and with his release of the defense and special teams today, the team is final. The Jaguars have the second most players on the list with eight behind the Texans who finished with ten players. There were six Titans and three Colts that made the team.

On the list are RB Maurice Jones-Drew, FB Greg Jones and G Uche Nwaneri on offense, LB Daryl Smith, LB Paul Posluszny and S Dwight Lowery on defense, and ST Kassim Osgood and KR Deji Karim on special teams.

While the first five seem like fair and almost obvious selections, the last three are all questionable at best, laughable at worst. While Lowery was a valuable piece in the remodel of the Jaguars defense, Danieal Manning had an arguably greater impact on the Texans defense as they made a similar transformation defensively and would have received the nod from me.

Kassim Osgood earned the nod at special teamer despite the Jaguars selecting Montell Owens as their special teams representative and him earning a place in last Sunday's Pro Bowl for the second consecutive year. And lastly, Deji Karim earned a spot as the AFC South's kick returner despite having such a bad season that he was benched for several games and likely won't be with the team in 2012. Still, he did have the division's best kick return average.