clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Black and Teal Legends: Counting Down the Top Twenty-Five Jaguars of All-Time (#18)

We continue our list of the Top-25 Jaguars of all-time. The response was somewhat weaker in both comments and voting for yesterday's #19 player, Kevin Hardy. Of 158 votes at last count, more than half of you (54%) agreed with Hardy's placement on the list.

Moving along on our countdown, we come to our second current Jag on the list. I wrestled with this player's position a few times and finally was resolved to placing him here at #18.

Without further adieu...

#18. Brad Meester, C, 2000-Present

The Jaguars drafted Meester in the second round of the 2000 NFL Draft. He became an instant starter at left guard and played the position until being moved to center permanently in 2003. Over the duration of his career, Meester has been the Jaguars "Iron Man". He started four consecutive seasons without missing a snap, from 2000-2004, before a torn bicep ended that streak in a game against the Cleveland Browns during the 2005 season. Meester battled injuries again over the next few seasons, but has again played every snap for the team at center, since the 2009 season.

Though never recognized much on a national level, Jaguar fans and local media have known Meester as being a reliable player and the centerpiece of an offensive line that at times has been dominant over the span of his career. In 2003, he anchored the line that set a franchise record for sacks allowed, with a low of 28. He's been a vital part of leading the way for Fred Taylor and Maurice Jones-Drew to rush for several 1,000+ yard seasons, three combined Pro Bowls, and in 2011 helped Jones-Drew rush for the league rushing title.

In 2011, Meester set the Jaguars all-time record for games played, and is the longest tenured Jaguar in franchise history as he enters his 12th season with the team in 2012.

The Top 25 List:

#25. Aaron Beasley, CB, 1996-2001

#24. Bryan Barker, P, 1995-2000

#23. Donovin Darius, S, 1998-2006

#22. David Garrard, QB, 2002-2010

#21. Josh Scobee, K, 2004-Present

#20. Kyle Brady, TE, 1999-2006

#19. Kevin Hardy, LB, 1996-2001

#18. Brad Meester, C, 2000-Present