clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Three former Jaguars earn preliminary Hall of Fame nominations

Tony Boselli, Jimmy Smith and Keenan McCardell are featured on a list of 127 nominees.

Matthew Emmons-US PRESSWIRE - Presswire

On Thursday, the Pro Football Hall of Fame released their list of 127 nominees for the Class of 2013 induction. Of the 127 nominees, 13 of whom are first-ballot entries, three were players that played for the Jaguars during the majority of their careers.

Offensive tackle Tony Boselli along with wide receivers Jimmy Smith and Keenan McCardell, although none are favorites to advance to the list of 25 finalists as selected by the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee in November.

McCardell, a first-year eligible nominee, is second in every major receiving category in Jaguars franchise history, behind only Smith, his counterpart on the team from 1996 to 2001 and now fellow nominee. During the same era, Boselli served as the team's left tackle from 1995 to 2001 and is now a predominant figure in the Jacksonville area, serving as Team Teal Commissioner, as well as a color commentator on many NFL broadcasts.

The full list consists of 89 players, 14 coaches and 24 contributors.