6 wins is the magic number for Gus Bradley to keep his job

After realizing that the Jaguars are mired in a state of futility, with 4 consecutive seasons with less than 6 wins (14 total wins), and a discussion of whether or not Gus Bradley should get FIVE seasons to right this ship, I decided to look through franchise encyclopedias and see if there is any precedent for keeping a coach for this long despite their excessive losses.

Since 1980 (I chose 1980 as a cutoff since the schedule went to 16 games in 1978 and I like round numbers), there have only been 8 teams that have experienced 4 or more straight sub-6-win seasons (including the current Jaguars team). I also chose teams that were sub-6-win and not at-6-win for an even more discriminate display of awfulness (there are a lot of teams that had more than 4 sub-7-win seasons).

Arizona 1989-1992 (4 straight seasons)
1989 coached by Gene Stallings, who was fired at 5-6 after three sub-.500 seasons (team finished 5-11).
1990-1992 coached by Joe Bugel, who went 5-11, 4-12, 4-12. He stayed on in 1993 but was fired after going 7-9

Atlanta 1987-1990 (4 straight seasons)
1987-1989 coached by Marion Campbell, went 3-12, 5-11, fired at 3-9
1990 Jerry Glanville went 5-11

Cincinnati 1991-1994 Wyche/Shula (4 straight seasons)
1991 coached by Sam Wyche, went 3-13
1992-1994 coached by David Shula, went 5-11, 3-13, 3-13 (went 7-9 in 1995 but then was fired in 1996 after starting 1-6)

Cleveland 2008-2013 (6 straight seasons)
2008 coached by Romeo Crennel, fired after going 4-12
2009-2010 coached by Eric Mangini, went 5-11, 5-11
2011-2012 coached by Pat Shurmur, went 4-12, 5-11
2013 coached by Rob Chudzinski, went 4-12

Oakland 2003-2009 (7 straight seasons)
2003 coached by Bill Callahan, went 4-12
2004-2005 coached by Norv Turner, went 5-11, 4-12
2006 coached by Art Shell, went 2-14
2007 coached by Lane Kiffin, went 4-12
2008 coached by Lane Kiffin (1-3) and Tom Cable (4-8)
2009 coached by Tom Cable, who went 5-11 (he went 8-8 the next year then was fired)

Tampa Bay 1985-1989 (5 straight seasons)
1985-1986 coached by Leeman Bennett, went 2-14, 2-14
1987-1989 coached by Ray Perkins, went 4-11, 5-11, 5-11 (fired in 1990 after starting off 5-8, team finished 6-10)

Tennessee (Houston Oilers) 1982-1986 (5 straight seasons, 4 if you don't count the strike-shortened 1982)
1982 coached by Ed Biles, went 1-8 (strike year)
1983 coached by Ed Biles (0-6) and Chuck Studley (2-8)
1984 coached by Hugh Campbell, went 3-13
1985 coached by Hugh Campbell (5-9) and Jerry Glanville (0-2)
1986 coached by Jerry Glanville, went 5-11 (then went on to win 9, 10 and 9 before moving on to Atlanta)

The only comparable-to-Bradley scenarios would be Arizona's Joe Bugel, Cincinnati's David Shula and Tampa Bay's Ray Perkins, as far as not firing a coach who had three consecutive sub-6-win seasons. Bugel only head-coached once more, a 4-12 season for Oakland in 1997 (57 years old). Shula never head-coached again after being fired from Cincinnati at the age of 37. Ray Perkins never head-coached again after TB (age 49).

This paints a grim picture for the future of Gus Bradley. If he does not win 6 games this year, to expect him to get to .500 in year four is literally unprecedented. And to give him a fifth year on top of that would only have a precedent in David Shula, who ended up tanking in his 5th season. So what is the solution to this problem?

FanPosts do not necessarily reflect the views of the authors of Big Cat Country or SB Nation.