clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Bowl 2017: Time, TV schedule, and news for NFL's all-star game

NFL: Pro Bowl-AFC Practice Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

After nearly 32 years of taking place in Hawaii, the 2017 Pro Bowl has a new location: Orlando, Florida. But that’s just one of many changes to the NFL all-star game.

In 2016, the Pro Bowl ratings dropped once again, leading the league to decide to revamp the format. Other than adding a surprisingly fun Skills Showdown, the Pro Bowl is also back to the conference-based format, which means players from the AFC will face players from NFC in the Pro Bowl.

As usual, a number of players declined to participate. Tom Brady has yet another Super Bowl to prepare for, as does Matt Ryan. Ben Roethlisberger and Derek Carr are dealing with injuries. Aaron Rodgers just straight opted out.

So now the quarterbacks are Andy Dalton, Alex Smith, and Philip Rivers for the AFC, and Kirk Cousins, Drew Brees, and Dak Prescott for the NFC. Only Prescott was on the original roster.

Despite all the people who dropped out, there are other players on this roster who will be fun to watch, like running backs Ezekiel Elliott and DeMarco Murray, as well as receivers Odell Beckham Jr. and Tyreek Hill.

And, no, there aren’t any members of the Jacksonville Jaguars to be found — although maybe there should have been.

Jerome Bettis and Ray Lewis are captains for the AFC team, which will be led by Andy Reid and the Kansas City Chiefs coaching staff.

The Dallas Cowboys staff will coach the NFC, with Tony Gonzalez and Charles Woodsonas the team captains.

How to Watch

Time: 8 p.m. ET

Place: Camping World Stadium, Orlando


Announcers: Sean McDonough, Jon Gruden, and Lisa Salters

Online: WatchESPN