clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jaguars vs. Bengals: Week 9 sack analysis

The Jaguars’ offensive line was — wait a minute, we didn’t allow a sack again? This column is going downhill fast.

NFL: Cincinnati Bengals at Jacksonville Jaguars Matt Stamey-USA TODAY Sports

Another week, another game where the Jacksonville Jaguars didn’t allow a single sack. That’s three times this season — the best they’ve done since 2007.

The best offensive line in terms of shutting out opposing defensive lines came in 2002 when that squad had four games allowing zero sacks. This offensive line has eight games to match and break that record.

So instead of breaking down sacks this week (since there weren’t any) let’s compare this year’s team at midseason to the great offensive lines of Jaguars past.

Can this year’s offensive line break a franchise record?

It’ll be tough but it’s definitely doable. The Jaguars offensive line of the mid-2000’s was incredibly good, finishing near the top of the league in sacks allowed. They always hovered in the high 20’s and low 30’s in terms of how many sacks they’d give up in a year with 2003 being their crowning achievement — only 28 sacks allowed.

The Jaguars, however, are on pace to break that record. They’ve given up just 11 sacks in eight games and are projected to finish with 22 sacks allowed. They would need to average more than two sacks given up per game every game for the rest of the year to not break the record, something they can definitely do.

How likely is two or more sacks given up per game every week? Not very likely. They’ve only given up two or more sacks three times in the first eight games.

What about the NFL record?

The Miami Dolphins still hold that record with only seven given up in 1988.

No, really. Seven.

2017 sack totals

Player Sacks
Player Sacks
Blake Bortles 6.5
Cam Robinson 3.5
Patrick Omameh 3
Miscellaneous 3
Chris Reed 2.5
Jermey Parnell 2.5
Leonard Fournette 1.5
Tyler Shatley 1
Tommy Bohanon 1
Nobody 1
Josh Wells 1
Marcedes Lewis 1
A.J. Cann 0.5
Chris Ivory 0.5
T.J. Yeldon 0.5

Up next: The Los Angeles Chargers!