clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tony Boselli not voted into Pro Football Hall of Fame

Jaguars V Bills

After gaining some momentum leading up to the induction week, former Jacksonville Jaguars offensive tackle Tony Boselli failed to earn the votes needed to get into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. This was Boselli’s 11th year of eligibility.

This year was the first time that Boselli made it to the finalist round, competing against 14 other premier players such as Terrell Davis, Kurt Warner, and Brian Dawkins.

Boselli certainly deserved to get in — he made the Pro Bowl in five of his first six seasons. He was an All-Pro from 1997 through 1999. He's the only member of the 1990’s NFL All-Decade first team to not be in from the offensive side of the ball.

Imagine a wide receiver or a quarterback or a defensive end who was among the top two or three at his position for four or five years. Of course that player gets voted in.

But a lack of Super Bowl titles and a career cut short by injuries is what’s likely keeping him on the bubble with the Pro Football Hall of Fame selection committee.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame selection committee is made up of 48 media members, including Sam Kouvaris of WJXT-TV and Vito Stellino of the Times-Union. At the annual “Selection Saturday" Meeting, the 15 finalists are reduced down to 10 (which Boselli reportedly made, according to Pete Prisco) and then down to five. At that point, the five remaining nominees are voted on for membership on a yes or no basis. A minimum positive vote of 80 percent is necessary for election.