clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

3 Jaguars players nominated for Pro Football Hall of Fame

New, comments

Tony Boselli, Fred Taylor, and Jimmy Smith are among the 108 nominees this year.

Jacksonville Jaguars v Denver Broncos Photo by Doug Pensinger/Getty Images

The Jacksonville Jaguars have their three best players included in the 108 nominees for the 2018 class of Pro Football Hall of Fame inductees.

Tony Boselli, Fred Taylor, and Jimmy Smith will be voted upon this football season for inclusion. This is Boselli’s second straight season included in the list of nominees as he was a semi-finalist last year. Smith is eligible as a former Pro Bowl player and Taylor was nominated for the first time.

In November, the Pro Football Hall of Fame will announce the 25 candidates remaining after the Selection Committee votes on the preliminary list. The Selection Committee is made up of a representative for each of the 32 teams, two members of the Hall of Fame, the president of the Pro Football Writers Association of America, and nine at-large voters.

From those 25 semi-finalists the committee will select 15 finalists and then cut down to 10 and eventually five. Those five are then subjected to an up or down vote, where if a player doesn’t receive 80 percent of the vote he’s not inducted.

Last year, Boselli was among the 15 finalists and made the first cut down to the final 10. However, he didn’t make it to the final cut down of just five players.