clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jacksonville Jaguars make final cuts, trim roster to 53

Atlanta Falcons v Jacksonville Jaguars Photo by Sam Greenwood/Getty Images

The Jacksonville Jaguars released their final roster moves of the 2019 preseason in order to get the roster down to the league required 53-player limit to enter the regular season.

In total, the Jaguars have waived the following 25 players:

OT Ka’John Armstrong, WR Tyre Brady, TE Donnie Ernsberger, CB Tae Hayes, WR Quadree Henderson, RB Elijah Hood, DT Michael Hughes, DT Lyndon Johnson, TE Charles Jones, WR Raphael Leonard, WR Tre McBride, QB Alex McGough, CB Quenton Meeks, TE Carson Meier, S Joshua Moon, CB Picasso Nelson, S C.J. Reavis, CB Savion Smith, OL Bunchy Stallings, LB Connor Strachan, DT Kalani Vakameilalo, WR Michael Walker, CB Brandon Watson, DT Andrew Williams, and TE Ethan Wolf.

The team waived/injured 4 players, who will revert to injured reserve if they clear waivers:

OL Donnell Greene, RB Devante Mays, OL K.C. McDermott, OL Leonard Wester

Two players, OL Ben Ijalana and WR Terrelle Pryor, were placed on the team’s injured reserve list. Linebacker Jake Ryan, was placed on the Reserve/Non-Football injury list and is eligible to return following Week 6 of the regular season.

The Jaguars had previously announced the release of veterans DT Datone Jones, LB Ramik Wilson, and RB Thomas Rawls on Friday.

Two surprise first-year players, cornerback Breon Borders and wide receiver C.J. Board, made it through to the 53 man roster for now as did undrafted free agent safety Andrew Wingard. Meanwhile, expect guys such as McGough, Brady, Hayes, and Charles Jones to be priority practice squad candidates once they clear waivers.

2019 Jaguars 53-man roster (for now)

It is anticipated that the team will be active in the waiver wire search on Sunday when teams are allowed to place claims on players who have been waived, so the final roster likely has not been fully set.

As it stands, however, the Jaguars 53 man roster as they begin the regular season looks like this:

Quarterback (2)

Nick Foles, Gardner Minshew

Running back (3)

Leonard Fournette, Ryquell Armstead, Alfred Blue

Wide receiver (6)

Dede Westbrook, Marqise Lee, Chris Conley, D.J. Chark Jr., Keelan Cole, C.J. Board

Tight end (4)

Geoff Swaim, Josh Oliver, James O’Shaughnessy, Ben Koyack

Offensive line (9)

Cam Robinson, Andrew Norwell, Brandon Linder, A.J. Cann, Jawaan Taylor, Will Richardson, Cedric Ogbuehi, Tyler Shatley, Brandon Thomas

Edge rushers (4)

Josh Allen, Yannick Ngakoue, Lerentee McCray, Dawuane Smoot

Defensive line (6)

Calais Campbell, Marcell Dareus, Abry Jones, Taven Bryan, Eli Ankou, Dontavius Russell

Linebacker (6)

Myles Jack, Quincy Williams, Leon Jacobs, Najee Goode, Joe Giles-Harris, D.J. Alexander

Cornerback (5)

Jalen Ramsey, A.J. Bouye, D.J. Hayden, Tre Herndon, Breon Borders

Safety (5)

Jarrod Wilson, Ronnie Harrison, Cody Davis, Andrew Wingard, Josh Robinson

Special teams (3)

Josh Lambo (K), Logan Cooke (P), Matt Overton (LS)