clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jaguars officially sign 15 players to practice squad

The Jaguars have completed their roster moves prior to the start of the regular season, at least for now.

Detroit Lions v Washington Redskins Photo by Scott Taetsch/Getty Images

Today, the Jaguars announced that they’ve signed 15 players to their practice squad.

This comes just one day after players cleared waivers, able to sign with their respective teams. The team will be allowed to sign one more player to the practice squad as the NFL currently allows a total of 16 per team.

The rules of a the practice squad have changed. Now, teams will be able to place six veterans, regardless of NFL experience (no limit to accrued seasons). This will allow teams to have much more flexibility in who they add to the practice squad, as well as give players more stability.

Another wrinkle to the practice squad rules comes during game day.

Teams will now be able to activate a practice squad player on game day before it announces the inactives. The player does not have to be elevated from the practice squad to the main roster for the move.

Teams will be allowed to do this with two practice squad players per week, but the same player cannot be elevated two weeks in a row. A player will only be able to be elevated twice per season. For a third elevation, the player must then be signed to the 53-man roster.

2020 practice squad

RB Nathan Cottrell (Georgia Tech)

TE Ben Ellefson (North Dakota State)

LB Nate Evans (UCF)

TE Matt Flanagan (Pittsburgh)

LB Joe Giles-Harris (Duke)

QB Mike Glennon (North Carolina State)

WR Terry Godwin (Georgia)

WR Josh Hammond (Florida)

CB Amari Henderson (Wake Forest)

OL K.C. McDermott (Miami)

OL Austen Pleasants (Ohio)

WR Trey Quinn (Southern Methodist)

DL Caraun Reid (Princeton)

OL Tre’Vour Wallace-Simms (Missouri)

P Brandon Wright (Georgia State)